Wednesday, September 20, 2006

TOP STORY >>Vote sets run-offs in pair of contests

Leader staff writer

Six candidates for one seat usually mean a run-off, and it has turned out that way for the Zone 3, Position 6 seat of the Lonoke School District. The top vote getters were Cindy Burns with 66 votes and Darrell Park with 65 votes. Also running for that seat which was formerly held by Neil Burnett Jr., who opted not to run again, were Roger Lynch who garnered 35 votes, Janice Perkins with 23 votes, Rudy Kurz with 12 and Shannon Holman with nine.

A four-person field for the Position 2 seat of the Cabot School Board also produced a run-off as incumbent and school board president David M. Hipp received 291 votes and Ken Kincade received 222. Hipp was just two votes away from avoiding a run-off. He needed more than 50 percent of the total vote, and had 49.8 percent.

Also running for that seat were Joyce Bender who received 46 votes and Arthur Evans with 20 votes. There were also five write-in votes. A run-off election for the two seats will be held Oct. 10.

The only other contested race was in Pulaski County where Sherwood residents Ronnie Calva and Charlie Wood faced off for the Pulaski County Special School District’s Zone 4 seat. Late Tuesday night, Wood had a one vote lead over Calva, the incumbent, with 10 absentee ballots still out. In all the other area school board races the candidates were unopposed.
Danny Gililland ran unopposed for PCSSD’s Zone 5 seat vacated by Carol Burgett.

Fred Campbell ran unopposed for Cabot School Board’s Position 6 seat. In Lonoke, Michael Linton ran unopposed for the Zone 2, Position 7 board seat. A vote to maintain current millage levels passed in all area school districts.