Friday, October 05, 2012

TOP STORY >> Theater grand opening this week

The grand opening of the newly renovated Cabot High School Theater will present “Little Shop of Horrors,” which transforms the stage to New York City in September 1960 and Mushnik’s Flower Shop and a glamorous doo-wop-singing Greek chorus (Bailey Moses, Jade Gibbs, Charl Young, Jeni Fuller and Emily Freeman).

The musical has 72 cast members, 24 backstage crew and a live orchestra. Tickets are $7 and can be purchased at the box office in the lobby or at the CHS office or by calling 501-259-1305. Performance dates are at 6 p.m. Thursday and at 7 p.m. Saturday.

Mr. Mushnik (Jacob Crowder) is struggling financially in his flower shop, and both of his employees, nerdy Seymour Krelborn (Skylar Bartlett) and the beautiful but ditzy Audrey (Victoria Eckert), separately dream of escaping their hopeless poverty.

Seymour displays a “strange and interesting” plant to attract customers and names the plant “Audrey II” after Audrey, who he is secretly in love with.

Unfortunately, Audrey is dating the not-so-nice dentist (Madison McGregor). After a surprising turn of events, the audience sees the plant’s growth as it takes over the shop.


Skylar Bartlett (Seymour); Victoria Eckert (Audrey); Jacob Crowder (Mr. Mushnik); Madison McGregor (Orin); Payton Collier (voice of the plant); Jeni Fuller, Bailey Moses, Jade Gibbs, Emily Freeman, Charl Young (doo- wop girls); Savannah Woods, Riley Hofer, Alison Kaseberg (NBC girls); Tanner Johnson (NBC interviewer); Lexi Cunningham (Mrs. Luce), and Ryan Stephens (Bernstein).

Also Trent Blankenship (Snip the talent agent); Alison Kaseberg (Mrs. Martin); Riley Hoffer/Kolby Cole (customers No. 1); Lara Beth Gore/Kirsten Cagle (customers No. 2) Lauren Worth; Lara Beth Gore, Alison Kaseberg, Savannah Woods, Riley Hoffer, Judith Beckham and Amber Klein.

Also Kasie Follett, Anna Kay Everett, Haeden Waymack, Tanner Johnson, Ryan Stephens, Kolby Cole, Trent Blankenship (“Downtown” featured singers/dancers); Lara Beth Gore, Mary Powell, Anna Kay Everett, Lauren Worth, Kirsten Cagle, Terri Veatch, Victoria Wilson, Ryan Stephens, Kolby Cole and Tanner Johnson (“Meek Shall Inherit” featured singers).

Also Linda Copeland, Rhi-annon Epley, Lauren Gilbert, Brooke Rowland, Cally Males, Matthew Lemaster, Victoria Stanislaski, Tyler Faust, Tracy Tyler, Allyson Green, Presleigh Reaves, Samantha Shaw, Jada Davis, DeYauni Akins, Haley Campbell, Victoria Wilson, Terri Veatch, Lauren Morris, Tristan Bulice, Brittney Davis, Lauren Kerr, Courtney Lewis, Sam Hinson and Kayla Looney.

Also McKenzie Marks, Bailey Meador, Raven Lurz, Brett Frazier, Brady Smith, Daniel Brathwaite, Jake Ferguson, Tyler Hill, Katie Foust, Emma Galvez, Michael Gilstrap, Michael Graham, Payton Petritsch, Cody Pugh, Ashton Williams, Jay King, Crystal Rudy and Logan Medler (Skid Row characters).