Tuesday, July 05, 2016

TOP STORY >> Latest hirings at JNP

Leader senior staff writer

The Jacksonville-North Pulaski School Board recently met in special session to hire more teachers and other personnel.

The July school board meeting has been moved to Tuesday to avoid conflict with the Fourth of July.

There’s still a lot to do before school opens in about six weeks, JNPSD Chief of Staff Phyllis Stewart said Tuesday.

Elementary school teachers hired were: Kayla Bar, Bruinna Bedford, Amanda Chapin (media specialist), Pam Childress, and Angela Cooley;

Marissa Hawkins, Whitney Hillman, Kayla Jackson, Alicia Ketron and Belinda Lawrence (special education);

Amanda Lercher, Billie Molly Looney, Bayley Miller, Katelyn Miller and Ashleigh Moore, Courtney Perez and Robyn Sanders;

Jana McWilliams, and Alicia Williams (vocal music)and Aaron Zachery Sloan, elementary physical education and high school football coach.

The board also hired Paula Mannis, special education coordinator; Ron Atkinson, middle school math and science; Michael Boyd, middle school instructional facilitator; Paula Gentry, special education, and Rodney Gilmore, alternative learning teacher;

Deborah Lutz, middle school English and math; Macy Pleis, middle school business education and Monica Ring, math facilitator.

Secondary teachers hired included: Rachael Beene, family consumer science; Melba Bartlett, special education; Michael Dean, social studies; Brandon Fenwick, math; Sheila Gilmore, math; Erica Harrod, marketing; Justin Huckaby, special education; Amanda Mason, science; Ralph Russell, part-time drafting teacher; Jaime Briggs, assistant varsity volleyball; Henry Hawk, head coach cross country, and Erica Harrod, head ninth-grade volleyball coach.

The board hired special education teachers Christina Brown, Mary Craig and Angela Moone.

Robbin Kokinos and Yvette Rivera will teach English as a second language.

A dozen bus drivers, 10 custodians and 28 cafeteria workers were hired.

Bus drivers hired were: Selena Adams, Shamika Boxley, Deeadria Cobbs, Glenda Fletcher, Johnny Hasan and Alfreda King, Jacoby Roark, Freddie Taylor, Junitha West, Bobbi Willhite, Robert Willhite and Travis Wright.

Custodians hired were Rose Alvarado, Vanessa Austin, Jason Evans, Elizabeth Fowler, Larry Hamsher, Joyce Harris, Darrell Joes, Marilyn Jones, Doris Steele and Terry Waggoner.

The board hired as cafeteria workers: Yolanda Bell, Treva Bradley, Wilda Britt, Sherri Brown and Barbara Bures, Hermethia Eubanks, Rowena Gray, Kimberly Grimes, Heather Hambrick and Starla Henry, Michelle Holder, Jennifer Johnson, Guillermina Johnston, Better Meneses, Brenda Oginski, Valerie Pickens, Marilyn Seigrist, Robin Simmons, Yon Simmons, Katrina Simpson, Maria Slutts, Margaret Smith, Terry Strohm, Andrea Vent, Jac-queline Wallace, Heather Woodall, Ann Wudkewych and Amy Yagel.

It hired David Buchart, Sean Calhoun and Lawrence Hendrix for skilled maintenance jobs.

Registered school nurses Amber Abbott, Leslie Eagle, Rowena Lowe, Meredith McGinty, Adam Sodosky and Chastity Stephens were hired.

Also hired, Lana Brooks, technology support specialist; Venisha Brown, attendance clerk; Karen Carney, counselor secretary; Tami Caswell, para-professional (special education CBI); Scott Coleman, alternative learning para-professional; Sharon Cousins, para-professional (special education); Karen Gentry, school secretary and Thedra Hall, para-professional (special education); Carrie Helsley, para-professional (special education); Karrie Jarrett, para-professional (special education); Kristi Linkwiler, attendance clerk; Ebony McKinzy, attendance clerk; Dorothy Nunis, para-professional (special education) and Sharon Rodgers, school secretary; Tandrea Rogers, para-professional (special education); Amanda Self, secretary to assistant superintendent; Josalyn Tillman, para-professional special education; Stephanie Whitfield, counselors’ secretary, Stephanie Wilkins, attendance clerk; Samantha Williams, school secretary, and Elizabeth Beattie, bookkeeper for free and reduced lunch.

The board accepted resignations from former hires, including five elementary school teachers, Tiffany Brandon, Jonathan Gunsolus, LaSonya Hillard, Erica Mack, Rhiannon Sniffin and Richard Wrightner.

Other resignations include: Kaela Ake, special education; Morgan Collins, middle school social studies; Warren Max Hatfield, special education; NaToya Norwood, middle level; Jennifer Oakley, secondary English; Lamont Page, middle school social studies, Karen Ratliff, special education; Jeffrey Rion, secondary social studies; Derek Shaw, science and ninth-grade head boys basketball coach, and Jennifer Tauton, gifted and talented.