Tuesday, August 16, 2016

TOP STORY >> Council candidates file for election

Leader staff writer

The deadline for city council candidates filing for the November election is Friday.


For Ward 1, Position 1: Lee McLane is running for a seat on the council. She is the editor and publisher of The Beebe News. Alderman David Pruitt is undecided in seeking re-election. Pruitt pleaded guilty on Aug. 2 in White County Circuit Court to a misdemeanor charge of violating state election law for voting twice during the primary election.

Ward 2, Position 2: Alderman Linda Anthony is seeking re-election.

Ward 2, Position 1: Derrek Goff is running for city council. Alderman Becky Short is not seeking re-election. Goff is a Cabot High School social studies teacher.

Ward 2, Position 2: Alderman Tracy Lightfoot is seeking re-election. He is challenged by Donald Lewis.

Ward 3, Position 1: Alderman Matt Dugger is seeking re-election. He is being challenged by Joe Morgan.

Ward 3, Position 2: Alderman Dale Bass is seeking re-election.


Cabot aldermen seeking re-election are Kevin Davis, Ward 1, Position 1; Doug Warner, Ward 2, Position 1; Jon Moore, Ward 2, Position 2; Rick Prentice, Ward 3, Position 2; Ann Gilliam, Ward 4, Position 1, and Ron Waymack, Ward 4 Position 2.

Alderman Doyle Tullos is seeking re-election for Ward 3, Position 1. He is being challenged by Norma Naquin who is the Cabot Public Works office manager, planning coordinator and building official.


Seeking re-election are Aldermen William Moon, Ward 1, Position 1; James Weir, Ward 1, Position 2; Gary Matheny, Ward 2, Position 1; Jeff Shaver, Ward 2, Position 2; Ron Bissett, Ward 3, Position 1, and Don Howard, Ward 3, Position 2.


Seeking re-election for Austin City Council are Alder-men Matthew Sheets, Ward 1, Position 6; Phillip Whiting, Ward 2, Position 2; Rusty Eisenhower, Ward 3, Position 1 and Randy Ryan, Ward 3, Position 4.


Seeking re-election are Aldermen Michael Florence, Position 7 and Koy Butler, Position 8.