Friday, May 24, 2013

TOP STORY >> Bidding a farewell to high school life

Leader staff writer

One area high school said goodbye to its seniors last night while two others will wish theirs luck today as they, young men and women, go on to enter the workforce or further their educations.

Jacksonville High School’s graduation was held Friday night on the football field, where 169 students were handed their diplomas.

Valedictorian Adam Hargis and salutatorian Hannah Shellito graced the stage to speak of high school experiences and where the class of 2013 should go from here.

In the front row were the other honor graduates, Tonancy Ramirez-Zamudio, Lori Shore, Chase Smiley, James Taylor and Samiera Washington.

North Pulaski High School’s commencement is set for 12:30 p.m. today at the Jack Stephens Center on the University of Arkansas at Little Rock campus.

The class of 2013 is 185 seniors strong.

Maitland Hurley is the valedictorian and Laura Spell is the salutatorian.

The other honor graduates are Caroline Bettencourt, Christopher Laxton, Kaley Nicholas, Bradley Degler, Fallon Howley, Shayla Evans, Kiana Benton, Austin Rainey, Jessica Hall, Kathryn Walter, Phelan Thomen, Sharon Wright, Darby Evans and Tiffany Waters.

Sylvan Hills High School’s 162 seniors will also receive their diplomas at the Jack Stephens Center. Their graduation is set for 5:30 p.m. today.

Hayden Huston, with a GPA of 4.164, was named valedictorian.

He is the son of Tom and Rhonda Huston.

Huston plans to attend the University of Arkansas Fayetteville to study pre-medicine chemistry.

He has been active in National Honor Society, Beta Club and Mu Alpha Theta in addition to being a member of the baseball team.

Lauren Dedmon, with a GPA of 4.095, was named salutatorian.

She is the daughter of Charles and Icephine Dedmon.

Dedmon also plans to attend U of A at Fayetteville. She wants to study broadcast journalism.

The salutatorian has received the Razorback Bridge Scholarship, the Alicia Nicole Rix Memorial Scholarship and the Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship.

Her extracurricular activities include National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta, Beta Club, choir, cheer and senior executive committee. She also served as the editor of the yearbook.

The other honor graduates are Kelsey Caton, Brooke Murphy, Victoria LaFave, Chloe Voss, Naomi Gregory, Jeana Canady, John Miller, Madeline White and Andrea Elias.