Friday, May 24, 2013

TOP STORY >> DAR holds first awards ceremony

Maj. Jacob Gray Chapter National Society Daughters of the American Revolution recently held its first awards and honors reception at the Jacksonville Museum of Military History.

Sixteen community members were recognized for their work and service to the community, state and nation.

 Ty Schultz, a Cabot High School senior, was given the Maj. Jacob Gray Chapter Scholarship worth $750 scholarship.

It is awarded annually to a graduating senior from Cabot, Jacksonville or North Pulaski High School. Recipients must major in historic preservation, history, secondary or elementary education or a medical field. Mary Lee Schultz of Cabot made the presentation.

 Michael York, also a Cabot High School senior, and Samiera Washington, a Jacksonville High School senior, were named DAR Good Citizens by their schools. York was the winner of the local chapter’s contest that was also entered in the statewide contest. They received certificates, pins and checks.

 Beebe High School history teacher Lindsey Sanders was recognized as the 2013 outstanding teacher of American history contest by chapter historian Lynda Etheridge of North Little Rock.

 John Wintz, a Beebe Junior High seventh grader, was the chapter’s American history essay contest winner.

Students were asked to write about “Forgotten Patriots Who Supported the American Struggle for Independence.” His essay was also entered in a statewide contest. American history committee chairman Jayne Spears of Beebe made the presentation.

 The chapter also recognized The Leader newspaper and its staff, Jeffrey Smith, Sarah Campbell and Jonathan Feldman, for helping to promote DAR. Publicity chairman Junelle Mongno of Jacksonville presented them with framed certificates of appreciation.

 Eight women were recognized for their contributions to American history. American History chairman Jayne Spears of Beebe honored former state Rep. Pat Bond of Jacksonville, a longtime education advocate; the late Leona Anderson Troxell Dodd, who was active in the community and politics; Kaki Hockersmith of Little Rock, an entrepreneur; Charlotte Huntley of Jacksonville, NSDAR 65-year member and entrepreneur; Joanne Kimsey of Cabot, NSDAR 54-year member and civic leader; the late Mary Burt Nash, who was a Pulaski County Juvenile Court judge; the late Jessie Speight Smith, a veteran and educator, and Laverne Robinson Thompson of Cabot, a veteran and business.